Stripe Tokenisation Pre-Authorisation
When storing customer details or using checkout to collect payment data, Stripe will in almost all cases make a £0 request to the customers bank to verify that it is authorised. If this fails a £1 request for authorisation will be made. Regardless of whether the authorisation is declined or not Stripe will immediately reverse the request. Even if the bank declines the authorisation some customers may still see the authorisation for £1 on their bank statement. This is by no means a charge that your customers have incurred and will ordinarily be removed from any bank statements within anywhere from a few minutes to a few weeks.